Mesa Verde National Park – October 2011

Posted: October 14, 2012 in Travel

This was the 1st of 6 National Parks we visited on our 1st anniversary trip last year, Along with 7 national monuments.  It was both of our first times visiting Mesa Verde and will not be the last. I’ve always seen pictures of Cliff Palace ruins but the pictures do it no justice. It was amazing, especially with the canyon backdrop. We spent 2 days and stayed in the lodge by the visitor center, the price was great and the restaurant was great too, dinner and breakfast. This also where I had my first Great Divide Denver Pale Ale (A). 

Mesa Verde National Park website: http://www.nps.gov/meve/index.htm

Far View Lodge website: http://www.visitmesaverde.com/accommodations/far-view-lodge.aspx

Comments
  1. i enjoyed that stack of pictures the sunsets horizons clay city and is that a wolf cool

    • ianhellbusch says:

      It took me 29 years to finally visit Mesa Verde NP but it was well worth the wait. Everything was gorgeous, the ruins, the canyons, the sunsets and sunrises and the stars at night were killer! That was a coyote in the picture, I’ve seen Bears, Moose, Elk, Marmots, Pika, and assorted other critters but alas I’ve seen no wolves in the wild, someday I hope too though. (from a safe distance)

  2. Was just there! Nice shots.

  3. ianhellbusch says:

    Hopefully the best journeys are still ahead of us, and I hope you have many of your own. That sounds cheesy to say it in my mind but I mean it! Thanks for reading everyone

  4. Small world…. I lived in Cortez Colorado when I was,younger. I loved it there. One of my best friends dad was actually a park ranger at Mesa verde. We used to go there all the time with him as kids.

  5. Nice photos! John and I spent half a day there as a break from our drive from Austin up to Portland, and really enjoyed the (way too brief) stop. We hope to go back sometime…

  6. We camped at this Park a few summers ago — what a fascinating place! Hope to get back and explore further some day. You have some wonderful shots from your visit. ~ Kat

Leave a Reply

